Home>#INSCMagazine>Cricket: Everything You Must Know About IPL 2020
#INSCMagazine Cricket Sports Sports Betting

Cricket: Everything You Must Know About IPL 2020

The 13th edition of the IPL (Indian Premier League), established by the Board of Control for Cricket in India, is all set to begin in April 2020. Like every year, the hype for the game has already started stirring up in the country, as players from all over the world start coming in for the auction.

Here is all that is available for public knowledge about IPL 2020.


A total of 8 teams are to participate in the Twenty20 league match. The teams partaking this year are Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

The tournament type is set to be Knockout and Double Round-robin. Round-robin means that every team gets a chance to play against each other in the course of the league. Once the successive eliminations are done, the Knockout stage starts and the top teams compete against each other in a single-elimination style.


The players’ auction for IPL 2020 is all set to be held in Kolkata on 19th December 2019. This is the first time that the home ground of Shah Rukh Khan’s co-owned Kolkata Knight Riders is hosting the auction. The location has been shifted from Bengaluru on conditions of anonymity, according to the Governing Council members.

A sum of Rs. 85 crores per team is already earmarked for the session of 2020. An additional amount of 3 crores will also be added to every team’s funds carried forward from the last auction. The teams have a separate balance with Delhi Capitals at the highest of 8.2 crores and Royal Challengers Bangalore at the lowest, 1.80 crores.


As the game of IPL 2020 is about to begin, the betting industry has also geared up. Some early predictions to remember while betting in this season of IPL are:

  • Chennai Super Kings have the maximum odds in their support for winning this league.
  • Delhi Capitals is expected to finish 3rd or 4th in the sequence.
  • Kolkata Knight Riders will have a difficult time in hilling up with the young players if they are chosen again in the auctions.
  • Most of the teams contending this year are very strong in their prospects and have won the title at least once. This is to intensify the enormous competition.

New rules

IPL has seen several changes in rules over the years, and this year, the concept of ‘Power Player’ is to be introduced. The rule clarifies that every team needs to announce its list of the 15-man squad before their respective matches. One player from this team will be allowed to substitute a player at any point in the game, be it at the fall of a wicket or the end of an over.

According to the officials, this concept has the power to change the game entirely. For example, Jasprit Bumrah is sitting in the dug-out, and your team needs to defend six runs in the last over. At such a crucial point, you can call in Bumrah and change the whole course of the game. The captains and the management of both the playing teams will have to be very strategic in their approach to make the best out of this new rule.

Sumeet Manhas
Sumeet Manhas is a T-Shaped digital marketer and freelancer on Up work where he talks about digital marketing case studies, tips, techniques, and more. Helping startups with digital marketing is what he loves.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.