In July, 2017 Apple released its latest iOS 13’s beta version for public to test. Well, while testing the waters before launching the final product is a commendable move, it can have repercussions for the users who signed up for the beta version. This is because the beta version is still under tests and can bring in a plethora of errors that can affect the performance of the device.

Some of the glitches that users have come across till date are quicker battery drainage, trouble downloading and installing the upgrade, problems with Face ID and Touch ID, lag in Security Features, malfunctioning auto-brightness, etc.


If you are one of the users who installed the beta version of iOS 13 to enjoy its performance enhancing features but ended up regretting your decision due to the glitches, here is how you can downgrade to iOS Version 12.

Before you proceed, make sure that you create a backup of the data that you want to retain. When you move to the lower iOS version, there are chances that you will lose your media files. It would be even wiser to create an archival backup before you download and install the new iOS.

The downgrade iOS sends you back to the latest official version available. In most cases, you will go back to iOS 12.3.1, or iOS 12.3.2 if you are using iPhone 8 or 8 Plus.

You can use an iOS system recovery tool to create a backup on any other device without having to worrying about the platform. Also, there are software that allow you to extract the data out of iCloud and iTunes and store it on a device.

When downgrading, you will have to restore your phone data when you are in recovery mode. Here are some steps that will take you through the process of downgrading your iPhone.

1. For performing the action, you need the latest version of iTunes.

2. Use a Lightning cable to connect the iPhone to a computer.

3. As per the model of your iPhone, follow the steps to put it on the recovery Mode.

4. Once your phone goes on Recovery Mode, your phone will ask you whether you want to Restore it. Click on Restore button to erase all the data on phone.

5. Now that your phone is free of the previous software, you can install iOS 12 again.

If your phone’s Find My Phone feature is ON, the process might not work. Therefore, turn it OFF before going about with the process. For this, visit Settings, the Apple ID, iCloud, Find My iPhone, and turn it off. During the process, your device will prompt you for the password. Enter it and you’re done!

How to Initiate the Recovery Process for your iPhone Model?

Different iPhone models have varying ways of going on Recovery Mode. What remains constant is the fact that you should remain connected to a computer before you proceed. Read along to know how to put your device on Recovery Mode.

· If you are using the latest models such as iPhone 8, iPhone 8 Plus, iPhone XS, iPhone XS Max, iPhone XR, and iPhone X, you need to follow 3 simple steps.

o Quickly press and release Volume Up button.

o Quickly press and release Volume Down button.

o Now, when you press and hold the button on the side, the recovery screen will show up.

· For the users of iPhone 7 and iPhone 7 Plus, the process is a bit easier. Press and hold the Power Button and the Volume Down button simultaneously till the Apple logo appears on the screen. Now, release the buttons to see the recovery mode screen.

· iPhone 6s and earlier follow the similar pattern as iPods and iPads. They require you to press and hold on to the Power Button and the Home Button at the same time. Keep the buttons pressed till you see the Apple Logo dominating the screen and then release when recovery screen appears.

Now that you’ve arrived at the Recovery screen, you can follow the above steps to recover your iOS’s previous version.

When you sign up for the Public Beta Program or are a part of the Developer Program for Apple, you must know that the primary purpose of providing you access to beta version is to identify glitches in it and notify them. In this way, the developers will be able to rectify gaps and bring you a flawless finished product. While most of the corrections in the upgrade are made available during the development stage, some updates might only appear in the final output.

In the end, only when you feel that the new and enhanced features of the Beta Version 13 of iOS are getting overpowered by its glitches, you should opt for a downgrade.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.