Home>Sports>MLB>Minor League Baseball>Frisco RoughRiders>Texas League All-Star Game: Michael Young Celebrity Softball Game
Frisco RoughRiders Minor League Baseball MLB Sports

Texas League All-Star Game: Michael Young Celebrity Softball Game

INSCMagazine: Get Social!

Michael Young hosted a celebrity softball game Tuesday night, prior to the Texas League All-Star game. Michael Young Family Foundation was the beneficiary of the Celebrity Softball Game presented by Sports Radio 1310/96.7 FM The Ticket, during festivities for the 81st Texas League All-Star Game presented by McAfee.

The Celebrity Softball Game, with teams captained by former Texas Rangers fan favorites Michael Young and David Murphy, included professional athletes with ties to Dallas-Fort Worth and local media celebrities. Along the participants were former Major League players Benji Gil, Kevin Mench, Jose Guzman, Mike Adams, Ryan Drese, Jeff Frye, German Duran, Mark Brandenburg, Tim Crabtree and Steve Kent; former NFL players Willie Pile and Michael Kiselak; former NBA player Greg Buckner; Bob Sturm, Dan McDowell and Jake Kemp from The Ticket; Fort Worth Star-Telegram columnist Mac Engel, DJSC (Exclusive DJ of the Dallas Cowboys) and RoughRiders Ambassador of Fun Michael Gruber.

Former Texas Ranger Michael Young


Team Young defeated Team Murphy 10-2 in the five-inning game. The matchup featured several home runs and some hilarious plays by the celebrities.

It was a perfect prelude to an outstanding Texas League All-Star game, where some of the best Double-A players gathered together to showcase their talent. Hosted by the Frisco RoughRiders, the All-Star festivities created a great environment for players, their families and friends, and fans of the game.

Here are some pictures from the game:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About the Michael Young Family Foundation:

The Michael Young Family Foundation was established in 2011 and dedicated to improving the physical, social, mental, and educational health of children, both domestic and international.

About the RoughRiders:

The Frisco RoughRiders are the Double-A affiliate of the Texas Rangers and play their games at beautiful Dr. Pepper Ballpark in Frisco, Texas. The team was founded in 2003 and has finished first among all Double-A franchises in attendance in each of the last 12 seasons (2005-2016). In August 2014, the RoughRiders were purchased by an ownership group led by Chuck Greenberg. The new ownership group, together with the city of Frisco, has spearheaded numerous major franchise improvements over the past two seasons, investing nearly $8 million in a wide array of facility upgrades and improvements, including a new state-of-the-art HD video board, sound system, Bull Moose Saloon, InTouch Grille, Riders Outpost Team Store and the newest and biggest creation, the 174-foot Choctaw Lazy River. The upgrades made prior to the 2015 season earned the Riders and the City of Frisco “Best Ballpark Renovation” of 2015 by Ballpark Digest. The same publication also honored the Choctaw Lazy River as the best ballpark improvement over $1 million for the 2016 season. More than 140 former RoughRiders players have gone on to play Major League Baseball, including All-Stars Chris Davis, Adrian Gonzalez, Ian Kinsler and Nelson Cruz, as well as current Rangers stars Elvis Andrus, Rougned Odor, and Nomar Mazara. For more information on the Frisco RoughRiders and Dr. Pepper Ballpark, please visit RidersBaseball.com or contact Art Garcia at AGarcia@RidersBaseball.com or Ryan Rouillard at RRouillard@RidersBaseball.com.

Follow Blake Cole on Twitter (@blakeacole) for more on the Frisco RoughRiders, and other Texas League players and teams.

  • 4

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.